Movie Review – Before I go to sleep ***

1_AW_27366-Before-I-Go-To-Sleep

Off late I realized that in my reviews I don’t write about the story of the movie at all. This time I thought to start with it. This is a story of a 40-year-old women (Nicole Kidman) who is suffering from short-term memory loss due to an accident. Every day when she wakes up her memory is wiped up and what she can remember is that she is in her early twenties and unmarried. The movie is a trilling journey of her finding herself, truth about her Husband (Collin Firth) with help of her doctor (Mark Strong).

Yes this movie has all the twists and turns of a thriller and also succeeds in keeping you glued to the seats. Kidman is good and so it Strong but I believe the strength of the movie is Firth. I have always liked him in the light romantic comedy genre but his partial of the darker side is equally good. For once here is movie which I feel should have a slightly longer runtime as the end is abrupt. The abrupt ending takes the emotional quotient out of the overall experience.

This movie is good and defiantly watchable for its story and good star cast but if I have to a movie, between this one, ‘Momento’ and ‘50 first dates’ as they all have the same base story (different garner of course), I would go for ‘50 first dates’ purely on EQ factor and ending which was superb. All’s well that ends well, isn’t it?

*Poor, ** Below Average, ***Average, ****Good, ****Very Good

Leave a Reply

