Movie Review – Dangal ***1/2

mv5bmtq4mzqzmzm2nl5bml5banbnxkftztgwmtq1nzu3mdi-_v1_ql50_sy1000_cr007131000_al_

I am sure that most of the movie buffs and otherwise in India have seen Dangal, so there is no point of a traditional review. What I would like to focus here is the hype created around this movie and why I feel it is a bit too much for this average movie. Now when I say it is a average movie I am taking out Aamir Khan out of the picture. You pick up any decent sports movie and it is designed to pump your adrenaline. There is that music which will make you feel you can do anything irrespective of your age or body condition. And the rags to riches story which inspires everyone (Though I must admit living in Haryana which is heavily male dominated state with the worst male to female ratio, to achieve what Geeta and Babita Phogat have is very very tough). Dangal is no different, as it does all those things I just pointed out and frankly speaking I have seen better sports oriented movies. So three stars from my side to this effort.

The things that separates Dangal from other Bollywood movies that have come out this year is Aamir Khan. This man has pored his body if not his heart into this movie . People are saying it is Aamir Khan’s best till date but I beg to differ and there are better movies he has done in his career. But the body transformation he has through is a tough thing to do. Sure you might argue that he had his own motivation to do it but I have seen people with great motivation fail. He did have a great body to start with which is always a added benefit. Then there are some some little things that deserve a pat in the back and when I say little it literally means little. Both Zaira Wasim & Suhani Bhatnagar playing the younger Geeta & Babita Phogat were very impressive even more than Fatima Sana Shaikh & Sanya Malhotra. I am also presently surprised by Aparshakti Khurana. On the technical front the wrestling scenes are shot quite realistically.

But finally you should see this movie for the three hero’s Mahavir, Geeta & Babita Phogal themselves. They will inspire so many in the future starting with Sakshi Mallik. I am giving the half star for them and Aamir Khan.

*Poor ** Below Average ***Average ****Good *****Very Good

Leave a Reply

