My Top 10 Movies of 2016

This is that time of the year when I publish a list of My Top 10 Movies of 2016. In this list there are two movie I did not get the chance to review on my blog but I have seen them and have marked them in my list as per my preference.

  1. Rogue One****1/2

mv5bmjewmzmxodizov5bml5banbnxkftztgwnzg3otazmdi-_v1_ql50_sy1000_sx675_al_

In short this is the best Star Wars movie till date. Excellent story, acting and special effects are just unparalleled by any movie throughout the year. If you are Star War fan or otherwise just go and watch it if you can in theaters.

  1. Arrival****1/2

mv5bmtu5mjc2odc1ov5bml5banbnxkftztgwntqwmzyymdi-_v1_ql50_sy1000_sx675_al_

I have not seen a better science fiction movie this year and probably be one of the classics of all time. It is also unlike any you have seen so far. Amy Adams was just brilliant.

  1. Pink (Not Reviewed on my blog)

pink-2016-official-hd-trailer-1-550x703

This is the most complete Hindi movie of the year. It is a hallmark of a good director and storyteller when they can cover so much in a short time. If you have still watched it then you can on Hotstar for free.

  1. The Jungle Book****

jungle_book

I revisited my childhood with this live action adaptation of the masterpiece. Extremely well-directed and executed. Also casting Neel Sethi an Indian American brought the much-needed authenticity.

  1. Deadpool****

MJV82jvR

This is what a Superhero movie for adults should be like. Before this movie I did not know much about Deadpool but what fun I had while watching it.

  1. Doctor Strange****

2m3jw5c

I am a big fan of Benedict Cumberbatch. He is a class actor and bring all his charm and charisma to this franchise. This was also one Character I did not know much about. The CGI in this movie if off the charts and I felt it was better than Inception.

  1. Parched (Not Reviewed on my blog)

large_parched-poster-2016

This is women power at its best. Extremely vivid and colorful movie both in terms of texture and emotional layers. It touches extremely important and relevant topics.

  1. Udta Punjab****

udtaposterpoll

Punjab has a drug problem and this movie captures it very well in a dark comedy. Both Parched and Udta Punjab will not be for everyone as they are tough to watch.

  1. Fantastic Beasts and where to find them****

mv5bmjmxotm1oti4mv5bml5banbnxkftztgwode5otyxmdi-_v1_ql50_sy1000_cr006741000_al_

Another fun-filled family movie with great acting and CGI. Also the characterizations are top-notch. I am not a big fan of Harry Potter movies but this I guess is a better version.

  1. Dangal***1/2

mv5bmtq4mzqzmzm2nl5bml5banbnxkftztgwmtq1nzu3mdi-_v1_ql50_sy1000_cr007131000_al_

This movie will most certainly get you supercharged. There is oodles of melodrama and that title track. Aamir Khan and his father daughter relation is a treat to watch.

Please share your thoughts if you agree with my list. Also what where your top 10?

Leave a Reply

